top of page
Search
  • kiralehman

Self Evaluation

Self-Evaluation Questions

1. What is the strongest entry in the site journal? Why?

The strongest entry in my site journal is Journal #2. In this entry I talked about the flora, fauna, and wildlife. I think it’s my strongest journal entry because I go into great detail on the topic as well as include many pictures of that weeks visit.

2. What did you enjoy about this assignment? Why?

I enjoyed a lot of things about this site journal project. First off, I loved the idea of having to go to a park basically every week because it can give you a sense of understanding of the new location (for most students) away from home. I also liked researching the history of my site and taking pictures of each time I visited. Learning about the different kinds of wildlife at my park was very interesting. 3. What was difficult or challenging about the assignment? What could be improved in your site journal, or what do you wish you had done differently?

The most difficult thing about this assignment was having to fit time into my schedule basically every week to go and explore my park. Although it was always a fun time going to Wash Park, there were weeks were the weather conditions weren’t always pleasant (on my 5th journal entry visit it was snowing). I could have improved my journal by going to my site more often and staying there for longer periods of time. I usually biked around the park so I rarely had time to just sit and observe. 4. How did you synthesize your entries as you completed the final version of the site journal?

I synthesized my entries as I completed the final version of the site journal by reviewing each entry and making sure they all flowed nicely and had relative material to what the entry was asking for. 5. What risks - in the writing, images, ideas - did you take in the site journal?

I would say I took a few risks in the images shown in the site journals. For instance, on first ascent (Journal 6), I have a photo of me completing a high-ropes course. For me, that was out of my comfort zone as I am extremely terrified of heights. In terms of ideas, I had to think outside the norm for a few entries as I tried to relate my site to course material. 6. What did you learn about your site and about nature writing by completing the site journal?

After completing my site journal, I believe I’ve learned a great amount about Wash park as well as nature in general. Due to this assignment, I have become closer to wash park in terms of understanding the history, wildlife, and sustainability/ future of the site.

1 view0 comments
bottom of page