top of page
Search
  • kiralehman

Journal #4: Interconnectedness and Sustainability

I visited Wash Park many times since my last journal entry; I noticed the trees are so pretty in the fall! Back at home in Arizona,I don’t get to experience fall colors, so I always find time to walk around Wash Park whenever I get the chance since the scenery is so pretty. It’s hard to miss home when it’s much prettier and cooler (temperature wise) here! I biked around Wash Park last week just as the leaves were turning. I also went with my friend to the public tennis courts and we played there for a while! This week, I walked around the park and the leaves were super pretty.






Here’s a video from this week’s visit:
















Sustainability


Wash Park is committed to enhancing its sustainability efforts through a comprehensive plan that focuses on the improvement of its beautiful lakes. This initiative involves the efficient management and treatment of stormwater runoff from both on-site and off-site sources, which not only helps maintain water quality but also supports local wildlife habitat. Furthermore, the park is dedicated to rehabilitating the lake edges, striking a harmonious balance between human access and preserving natural wildlife sanctuaries. The restoration of wetlands within the park not only contributes to improved water and visual quality but also promotes the health of riparian habitats. To ensure ongoing progress, Wash Park remains vigilant in monitoring and reporting water quality levels. Additionally, the park is implementing strategies to control Canadian Geese populations, further promoting the sustainability and ecological well-being of this cherished community space.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Self Evaluation

Self-Evaluation Questions 1. What is the strongest entry in the site journal? Why? The strongest entry in my site journal is Journal #2. In this entry I talked about the flora, fauna, and wildlife. I

bottom of page